HR platform: Update leave categories

Overview

Leave categories are the means through which your employees can submit time off against a pre-defined category. These pre-defined categories allow you to track what type of leave your employees are taking and the balance they have accrued, giving your organisation the means to manage and report on employee leave within your business.

This feature allows you to synchronise the leave categories created on your payroll platform and make them selectable within Employment Hero. This will ensure Employment Hero has the latest payroll configuration data and ensures the employee records on Employment Hero have the correct information.

HR Best Practice

The Update from Payroll button is a feature that allows you to successfully import and update new leave categories. This is particularly important when you change the naming convention of a leave category or introduce a new one. For example, you may introduce a Wellbeing Day to your employees as part of your Benefits and Wellness program. Please also ensure you are regularly communicating with your payroll admin, as they may update the leave categories on your payroll platform without your knowledge.

Availability

HR Plan:   Free   Standard   Premium   Platinum
Payroll Plan:   Standard   Premium
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  This is the default access level per user and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access, excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

The below premise will cover how to sync the latest leave categories from your payroll platform

Updating leave categories
  1. Click the   Payroll Settings menu.
  2. Click the Leave Categories submenu.
  3. Click the   Update From Payroll button.
    Leave_1.jpg

    Helpful Hint

    The Leave Categories page will now show a grey   Updated button. This means the HR platform has successfully imported your leave categories from your payroll platform.

    Leave_2.jpg

Further information

Ongoing synchronisation with the payroll platform

Once you have connected your payroll and HR platforms, the HR platform becomes the source of truth for your company settings, payroll settings, and employee file data.To read further details on how to manage leave categories on your Payroll platform, refer to the following article.

When you first connect the two platforms, the HR platform will pull the data from the Payroll platform into the HR platform, such as your leave category data. Any additional changes to leave categories after this initial integration, requires you to update your pay schedule data manually.

Why does the leave category show as disabled?

The HR platform will show a leave category as disabled if the data no longer exists on your payroll platform. You can not delete disabled pay categories if you have used them previously in the HR platform.

The reason for this is platform data accountability and to ensure that when you use the Audit Trail feature, we display the correct logs of what changes occurred within your platform.

Author recommended

So you have now updated your organisations leave categories and you are now wondering what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

Was this article helpful?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.