HR platform: Custom security settings and user management

Overview

Within your organisation, an employee may manage just the asset register, or they may just be in charge of assigning learning to your employees. At Employment Hero, we know these employees do not need full admin access but tailored access to suit the needs of their role, which is where our Custom Security feature comes in handy.

The Custom Security feature allows you to create your own security groups based on either an employee list or teams and then specify what access this group has within the platform. You can also use this feature to edit any previously created information and delete a record if it is no longer required.

HR Best Practice

The custom security settings feature allows you to customise what your employees can see and do. This feature allows you to avoid having to make nominated employees an Employment Hero Admin unnecessarily. For example, your Talent Acquisition Specialists may need to onboard your new hires or your IT Coordinators may be responsible for your Asset Register. This is especially important as it avoids the sharing of logins in order to complete certain activity in the platform. Our HR experts recommend you create teams to apply permissions to groups of employees.

Important

There are two versions of this feature: Basic Security Access for standard and premium users and Advanced Security Settings for platinum users. Please refer to the Access Option premises in the Further Information section for more information.

Availability

HR Plan:   Standard   Premium   Platinum
  User Access:   Employee         Manager         Admin      

  This is the default access level per user and whether they have  view,  edit and  delete access, excluding any changes made via our Custom Security feature.

Getting started

Add a security group
  1. Click the   General Settings menu. 
  2. Click the Custom Security Settings submenu.
  3. Click the New Security Group button.
    Security_1.jpg
  4. Complete the following fields:
    • Group name.
    • Description.
    • Set permissions for:
      • All employees.
      • Team.
      • Employee.
  5. You now have three options you can choose from with your security group:

    Important

    To read a breakdown on what the terms used in the Security Group permissions page mean and also what access you can grant in each section, please refer to the following article section.

    • Set Employee access permissions:
      1. Click the Employees tab.
      2. Select the required permissions.
      3. Click the Create button.
    • Set Contractor access permissions:
      1. Click the Contractors tab.
      2. Select the required permissions.
      3. Click the Create button.
    • Set Other Permissions access permissions:
      1. Click the Other Permissions tab.
      2. Select the required permissions.
      3. Click the Create button.

Maintain

Edit a security group
  1. Click the   General Settings menu. 
  2. Click the Custom Security Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. Make the required changes and click the Save button.
    Security_2.jpg
Delete a security group
  1. Click the   General Settings menu. 
  2. Click the Custom Security Settings submenu.
  3. Click the Actions button.
  4. Click the Delete button.
    Security_3.jpg
  5. Click the Delete button. 
    Security_4.jpg

Further information

Definitions
Use. Allows the user to use the feature. If the feature supports modifying and deleting, then the user will have access to that function.
View. Allows the user to view the feature.
Modify. Allows the user to modify the feature.
Delete. Allows the user to delete the feature.
All staff. The user can access this feature for all employees in their company.
Teams. The user can access this feature for all members within their team.
Reporting Employee's. The use can access the feature for all employees under them but not themselves.
All Contractors. The user can access this feature for all contractors in their company. 
Reporting Contractors. The user can access the feature for all contractors under them.
Knowledge Base. The use can access the HR Guides section of the platform.
Access options: Employees
Security group. Access within the security group. Standard. Premium. Platinum.
Custom reports.        
Documents        
Financial details Banking details.

You can grant access as a group.

You can grant access as a group.

You can grant access individually.

Tax declaration.
Superannuation. details.
Non payroll details. Personnel details. You can grant access as a group. You can grant access as a group. You can grant access individually.
Employment history.
Uploaded documents.
Emergency contacts.
Work eligibility.
Management notes.
Audit Trail.
Certifications.
Medical disclosure statement.
Payroll Details. Employment details. You can grant access as a group. You can grant access as a group. You can grant access individually.
Employment history.
Pay details.
Benefits (Allowances).
Payroll errors.
Uploaded documents.
Leave requests.           
Engagement reports.           
Reports.           
Timesheets.           
Access options: Contractors
Security group. Standard. Premium. Platinum.
File details.      
Document details.      
Access option: Other permissions
Security group. Standard. Premium. Platinum.
Post announcements to everyone.      
Post announcements to teams.        
API Access.      
Manage asset register.        
View asset register.         
Knowledge base.      
Leave calender.         
Offboarding.         
Onboarding employees.      
Issue employee contracts.      
Policies.      
Recruitment.      
Review settings.      
Incident reports.      
Template management.      
Web Hooks.      
Trigger onboarding checklists.      
Re-activate employee.      

Author recommended

So you have now setup your customer security settings and you are now wondering what next can I do. There are two recommendations I would make on this front and they are:

  • Team Settings This feature allows you to create a new team when the need arises within your organisation. You can also use this feature to edit existing information, disable a team, and delete any you created in error.
  • Company Settings: Employment Settings This feature allows you to customise your employment settings, for example, you can edit settings such as what timesheet type you use and whether to make two factor authentication mandatory for all your employees.
Was this article helpful?

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.